Van Hire Essex

Van Hire Essex Directory

Van Hire Essex
Skip Navigation Links
Vehicle Condition
Rental Agreement
Add Listing
Contact Us
Skip Navigation Links
Van Hire Basildon
Van Hire Chelmsford
Van Hire Clacton
Van Hire Colchester
Van Hire Epping
Van Hire Halstead
Van Hire Harlow
Van Hire Harwich
Van Hire Maldon
Van Hire Southend
Van Hire Braintree
Van Hire Brentwood
Van Hire Kent
Van Hire Hampshire
Van Hire Devon
Van Hire West Midlands

Van Hire and Vans for Hire in Essex

Van Hire based in Basildon, Chelmsford, Clacton, Colchester, Epping, Halstead, Harlow, Harwich, Maldon, Southend, Braintree and Brentwood.

Name - (Click Name or Town to Sort)TownTel
Advertise Your Company Here Your Town 0123456789
Econorent Colchester 01206396555
Alley Cat Car & Van Rental Harlow 01279 436236
AXE HIRE Chelmsford 01245 347370
CC Hire Clacton-On-Sea 01255 220222
East Anglia Car & Van Rental Halstead 01787 479222
Fargo Braintree 01376 321817
Jeakins Motor Ltd Basildon Contact Us
Steve's Self Drive Southend-On-Sea 01702 612047
Supervan Brentwood 01277 366602

Essex is a county in the East of England. The county town is Chelmsford, and the highest point of the county is Chrishall Common near the village of Langley, close to the Hertfordshire border, which reaches 482 feet (147 metres).

The name Essex derives from the East Seaxe or East Saxons. The Kingdom of Essex was traditionally founded by Aescwine in 527 AD, occupying territory to the north of the River Thames, incorporating much of what would later become Middlesex and Hertfordshire, though its territory was later restricted to lands east of the River Lee. It is through this origin as one of the 'Saxon' kingdoms that Essex is specifically not part of the region known as East Anglia (the latter comprising Norfolk, Suffolk, and Cambridgeshire), settled by tribes calling themselves 'Anglian'. Colchester in the north east of the county is Britain's oldest recorded town, dating back to before the Roman conquest, when it was known as Camulodunon, and was sufficiently well-developed to have its own mint.

Essex County Council was formed in 1889. However, the County Borough of West Ham, and from 1915 the County Borough of East Ham, formed part of the county but were not under county council control. Southend-on-Sea also formed a county borough from 1914 to 1974. The boundary with Greater London was established in 1965 when the former area of the East Ham and West Ham county boroughs and of the Barking, Chingford, Dagenham, Hornchurch, Ilford, Leyton, Romford, Walthamstow and Wanstead and Woodford districts was transferred to form the London boroughs of Barking, Havering, Newham, Redbridge, and Waltham Forest; an area similar to that known as Metropolitan Essex.

Essex became part of the East of England Government Office Region in 1994 and was statistically counted as part of that region from 1999, having previously been part of the South East England region. In 1998 the districts of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock separated from the shire county of Essex becoming unitary districts.